Be Fair to Your Gears…

On the night of 28th December, I was strolling alone along the street of Bukit Bintang doing some street shooting. There was not much of moments I could capture that night and I spent most of my time just loafing around. Suddenly, I saw a large crowd in front of ‘Pavillion” area with spectacular street lighting and  street Parade featuring costumed dancers. Then, I saw one of the dancer holding a slogan “BBKLCC World Fiesta Parade”. Yup, there was a parade happening.

I don’t want to know what was the parade all about, I just took my cameras and start taking few shots of the scenes. That night I brought along my OM-D E-M5 with M.Zuiko Digital 17mm f/1.8 and Olympus E5 with Zuiko Digital 50mm f/2. Actually, it has been a while since I last used my E5 and Zuiko Digital 50mm f/2 in low light situation, so it was quite a struggle for me to again, familiarized myself with the combination.

With poor lighting conditions as well as the huge crowd, it was tough for me to compose the subjects and more importantly to get a correct exposure. So, my initial shots were rubbish.

After a while, I decided to change my camera setting to “Aperture” mode, ISO Auto (EM-5 max @ ISO1600 and E5 max @ ISO2000), ISO bracketing (3EV0.3), Auto White Balance and centre weight metering. I constantly fixed the aperture at f/1.8 (E-M5) and f/2 (E5) and, play around with the exposure dial.

With limited space and rough lighting, I managed to get few shots of the event which I consider fair.

OM-D EM-5 + M.ZD17mm  f/1.8
Natural
f/1.8 | ISO640 | 1/80s | SuzailanJai

OM-D EM-5 + M.ZD17mm  f/1.8
Natural
f/1.8 | ISO1000 | 1/60s | SuzailanJai

 E-5 + ZD50mm  f/2.0
Natural
f/2.0 | ISO2000 | 1/125s | SuzailanJai

OM-D EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/1.8
Natural
f/1.8 | ISO 1000 | 1/60s | SuzailanJai

 E-5 + ZD50mm  f/2.0
Natural
f/2.0 | ISO2000 | 1/100s | SuzailanJai

Sadly, I was unable to realize the true potential of E5 + Zuiko Digital 50mm f/2.  I know, the lens focusing can be a bit tricky in low light situation. But, if you managed to hit the right spot you’ll be smiling to see the photos. E5 Image stabilizer (IS) was also a no match to E-M5’s 5-axis IS and that’s why all this while I’ve been using E-M5 for low light shooting. Nonetheless, I need to refresh my skills and I wouldn’t let myself to stay in comfort zone and rely solely on technology.  A more important lesson to learn – never leave someone/something once you love the most for too long. And don’t depend too much on technology or else, it will slowly kill your skills.

Leave a Reply

