Pasar Karat | Flea Market Batu Pahat

Flea markets (Pasar karat in Malay) are growing in popularity among Malaysians. These are the places people go looking for unusual items such as antiques, bric-a-brac, collector items, used electrical gadget and many other interesting and rare souvenirs.

Flea markets are usually held on weekends where people from all walk of life set up tables selling their unwanted personal stuffs. Carnival like atmosphere often accompanies the flea market. A good way to while away your weekend, indeed.

Of late, I’ve visited a flea market located at Jalan Idrus, Batu Pahat. Locals called this place as “Pasar Karat Batu Pahat” opened every weekend and public holidays as early as 7.00 a.m. until noon. Most of the items sold here came from neighboring country, Singapore.

Surau Arab (Arab Mosque), Batu Pahat located 200 meter from Pasar Karat Batu Pahat

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/8 | ISO200 | 1/640s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
Monotone | Orange filter
f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 1/2000s | SuzailanJai

Some old shops nearby the Pasar Karat Batu Pahat

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
Monotone | Orange filter
f/4 | ISO 200 | 1/600s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 1/500s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
Monotone | Green filter
f/4 | ISO 200 | 1/500s | SuzailanJai

At first, my intention was to find vintage camera’s item and shoot some street moment happening at this place. However, I couldn’t find any camera’s item except some old tripods which I noticed a bit overpriced. Moreover, I found the traders here were uncomfortable when I started taking photos. I’m not sure why, but not to spoil the mood, I switched my objective from street photography to close up photography.  And luckily my M.ZD17mm f/2.8 was ready for the task.

  O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
Monotone | Green filter
f/4 | ISO 200 | 1/600s | SuzailanJai

To be frank, it was not easy to compose your photograph when shooting at flea market. The subjects are scattered around and I cannot simply move it. So I have to shoot on “where it is basis”.

  O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 1/1250s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 1/1250s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 1/1250s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/4.0 | ISO 200 | 1/800s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 1/500s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 1/400s | SuzailanJai

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/3.5 | ISO 200 | 1/250s | SuzailanJai

I hang around for about an hour before I decided to wrap up the day and went home. On my way back, I passed this shop located at Jalan Zabedah, Batu Pahat  and it reminds me of my favorite TV show ” The Pawn Star”.

O-MD EM-5 + M.ZD17mm f/2.8
f/6.3 | ISO 200 | 1/1250s | SuzailanJai

Although I’m not really satisfied with the result of this outing, at least I’m glad that I still have the story to share  and, that is the reality in photography whereby sometimes you can’t get everything you want. Till then, happy shooting and don’t leave your camera at home.

Leave a Reply

